Woman of the Year 2019

Carla McCaleb, owner of McCaleb Funeral Home, is the 2019 Woman of the Year. McCaleb serves on the chamber board of directors and has been a Red Coat Ambassador for many years. She served on several committees as an active member of the First United Methodist Church and has served on the advisory board for the Better Business Bureau. McCaleb currently serves as president of the Literary Review, but she’s most passionate about the business and community she currently works in: grieving families. As owner of McCaleb Funeral Home, McCaleb has run a community grief support group for the past five years that meets on the first Thursday of every month. She also assists with the Grief Share Ministry at First Baptist Church that meets every Monday.

Weslaco Chamber names 2017 Man, Woman of the Year at annual luncheon

The Weslaco Chamber of Commerce held its annual membership luncheon Dec. 2, naming Director of Parks and Recreation for the City of Weslaco David Arce as its 2015 Man of the Year and Weslaco ISD Assistant Superintendent Sue Peterson Woman of the Year..

Additional honorees included Volunteer of the Year Carla McCaleb, McCaleb Funeral Home; Chamber Board Member of the Year Luis Reyes, Magic Valley Electric Co-Op and retiring board members Gerry Bower, James Enriquez and Randy Summers.

For more information, please visit the full article here.

Weslaco selects Mark McCaleb and Joe Vidales for RGV Walk of Fame

Each year, cities and chambers across the Rio Grande Valley submit nominations for this prestigious honor based on achievements and significant civic contributions. The City of Weslaco selected Mark McCaleb, who recently led the Weslaco Centennial Celebration. 

For more information, please visit the full article here.

Weslaco honored on Centennial anniversary

Celebrating their rich history as they work together to build a bright future, the people of Weslaco take great pride in the important role their city continues to play in the story of Hidalgo County as they celebrate its 100th anniversary.

Commissioners Court honored the City of Weslaco with a proclamation commemorating the momentous occasion. 

Accepting the proclamation, sponsored by Precinct 1 Commissioner David L. Fuentes, were Weslaco Mayor David Suarez, Weslaco Commissioner Letty Lopez, Centennial Committee Chairman Mark McCaleb, and Committee member Alex Livas.

For more information, please visit the full article here.